Mind Mapping Your Vision

Making a decision for your vision

In this episode we’re gonna focus on a useful technique to help us make a decision for our vision so that we can eliminate procrastination, and take action

A lot of people say they have big dreams 

People say they have big goals 

But when you ask them to really describe those goals and dreams, they tend to speak in general. There’s not a whole of of specifics. They have some sort of idea, but they’re not really sure EXACTLY what their vision looks like. 

I personally struggled with this a lot throughout my life. Thankfully I don’t anymore…

  • I’ve been a photographer 
  • I’ve been a sales manager 
  • I’ve been a general manager 
  • I’ve been a call center rep 
  • I’ve been a car wash person 
  • I worked at a movie theater 
  • I’ve worked at a junk yard
  • I’ve worked for Kinko’s 
  • I sold Lexus cars
  • I was a realtor
  • Did I mention I was a photographer?
  • I’ve designed websites 
  • I’ve been a consultant 


I’ve had so many different jobs  throughout my life because I didn’t have any SPECIFICS on my visions. My life’s direction was being determined the opportunities presented versus CREATING opportunities that aligned with my goals and dreams. 

However I learned how to change that once I discovered the value of having a clear vision. 

I started by reflecting on who I was and asking myself who do I want to be. One question that came up was: If money was no object for the rest of my life what would i wake up and do?

This is a question I recommend you write down, and ask yourself. (Seriously.. write it down, and write your answer down). People don’t take the time to truly think about this question, or even more important, to write down the answer. Talking about it is NOT the same as putting it in writing. 

If I could wake up every day and not worry about money I would wake up and do exactly what I’m doing now…which is educating and empowering people to see and surpass their potential. Everyday I provide people with tools and systems they can use to maximize their lives. However my vision has way more details than that. 

I have a vision of land where people can come to disconnect; to be empowered and connect with the leader that they have within themselves. I see a place where we can break bread, grow together through challenging and uplifting conversations. I can even describe the type of home I want on my land. Imagine large shipping containers with cut out windows to create a modern feel.  Imagine feeling the warmth of bright fresh wood on the walls, combining with the coolness of gray stone under your feet. Picture large trees, fields of grass, and a small lake. That’s how I describe my vision. 

How did I get to all of those details you ask?

Mind Mapping.

Mind mapping’s is a lot like brainstorming. It’s just more visually clear, structured, and appeasing to my eyes. 

Aaron Abramson from lifehack speaks about mind mapping , and he defines it as a simple organizational process using diagrams to list the information, ideas, and details to help assess the big picture. Mind mapping is used not only by people but also by businesses to generate ideas, improve processes, and help teams create new ways to come together on projects. 

SEE EXAMPLE MINDMAP HERE:

Sample of a Mind Map

To begin mind mapping, start with one word.  Write it in the middle of a page, and circle it. Then, draw a line from the circle and write the next word that comes to your mind and circle it. Allow your mind to completely release whatever comes to it. Just write as many words as you can, and as fast as you can. You repeat this process until your page is full, or you have no more ideas, or, my favorite approach, until your time is up. Set a short timer for yourself (90 seconds) and let that timer push you to get as much as you can out. Think of it as a race to let your ideas get on the page. Setting a timer forces you to accept each word without judgement. 

Once my timer is up I like to review the map and see what words I’ve written as well as how they make me feel. Are there any words that just grab my attention? I pay attention to how I respond to what I just wrote. Let your instincts guide you. 

Mind mapping can absolutely help you develop your vision. 

Depending on where you are with your vision will determine the best approach to take. 

If you already have an idea of what you want to do, then start with writing that idea in the middle of the page, in one word or as few words as possible. Then follow the same technique I described a minute ago. 

For those of you who have no idea whatsoever, I’d suggest starting with the word “vision”. Some people also like the word “dream”. Up to you. But start with the word vision and follow the same steps I went over. Meaning, write it down in the middle of the page and use a timer to force yourself to let out as much as you can as quickly as you can. One extra step you’ll have to do is after your first mind map is done, is you will then have to really reflect on your first map. You’ll then choose one word that you wrote down in your vision mind map, and use that word in a second mind map. Then repeat the mind map process using that new word, and it will help make your vision become more specific and clear to you. 

One key step that is needed no matter what stage in the vision development process you are in is reflection. Please give yourself the time to reflect and really learn about what you’ve written down. This will bro you to determine what actions you need to take.

So let’s recap…

What would I do if money was no object for the rest of my life? Think about and answer that question for yourself. 

Create a mind map using the word vision to develop your vision if you don’t have one already, or create a mind map using one word as few words as possible that describe what your vision currently is. (Time yourself!!)

Lastly, reflect. Let the words you wrote speak to you. 

That’s it. 

I’d love to see your mind map once it’s done. If you post it on your socials just use the hashtag TIMEVISIONACTION. If you need some help don’t hesitate to reach out to me directly. You can find me on Instagram @timevisionaction or just go to http://www.timevisionaction.com and you can contact me through the web site. 

I hope you found value in this message today and I really hope you put the mind mapping technique to good use. 

As always, own your time. Develop your vision. Take action!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started